…and waiting

I prayed to God, asking for a sign one way or another about my decision to become an atheist.

I’m still waiting for an answer.

9 Responses to …and waiting

  1. yhoshua says:

    “Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the LORD…”

    Jeremiah 29:12-14

    “But from there you will seek the LORD your God and you will find him, if you search after him with all your heart and with all your soul.”

    Deuteronomy 4:29

  2. yhoshua says:

    “And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.”

    Hebrews 11:6

  3. For Prez '24 says:

    Haha, Enjoyable post.

    Still I’m of the opinion that no one can really be certain either way so agnostic is the closest one can get to admitting what they know.

    http://www.QuestioCunctus.com

  4. grizelda3 says:

    Thank you for the biblical encouragement, yhoshua. I’m not leaning that way these days, but thanks anyway.
    ForPrez 24, you’re right. Even Richard Dawkins is only 99% sure there is no god.

    –griz

  5. yhoshua says:

    No problem.

    Also, I don’t think God is in the habit of giving people “signs” that He exists, at least not “signs” as I would regularly think of the word. Maybe an analogy will help clarify.

    If I want to meet the Queen of England, I have to meet her on her terms, not on mine. I’ll have to go to England, I’ll have to dress up, the meeting will be on her schedule and her terms. It is the same with God. If we want to meet with Him, to have Him make Himself known to us, then we have to do it on His terms.

    And His terms are repentance (turning from sin) and faith (putting ones trust in Christ alone for salvation).

    “For ‘everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.'” – Romans 10:13

    “Consequently, he [Jesus] is able to save to the uttermost those who draw near to God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them.” – Hebrews 7:25

    – Josh

    p.s. also, I think some of the best proof for God is creation… watch a sunset, or go look at the stars on a clear evening… it is just incredible; I have found that in looking around at creation it becomes easier for me to believe in a Creator

    “For what can be known about God is plain to them [plain to all people], because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.”

    Romans 1:19,20

  6. grizelda3 says:

    I’m sure Her Majesty the Queen would be flattered with your comparing her to God, so many centuries after the divine right of kings was, well– the divine right of kings. Ah, the good ol’ days.

    Creation might be the best proof for the existence of God. Unless one gets sucked into the cult of critical thinking, being completely brainwashed by logic and reason.

    Sorry Josh, your valiant attempts at conversion are lost here. Please, no more proselytizing.

    –griz

  7. yhoshua says:

    Alright… (for now) 🙂

    – Josh

  8. yhoshua says:

    geez, the little smiley face looks kinda’ evil

  9. riverflows says:

    Ummm … promise you I’m not trying to convert you. I’m a recovering fundamentalist, have been for over 40 years. Lotsa reading, lotsa seeking, thinking someone somewhere had a set of answers that would work for me.

    Then I started reading and chewing on writings by Jiddu Krishnamurti … I know, I know, the name sounds like a guru, but he’s anything but. He was (died in the 80s) an incredibly lucid, sensible thinker who challenges you to wake up to the real world and stop looking for some fairytale to live in, stop thinking that some authority can give you true spiritual answers.

    If you’re at all interested, ya might check out “Freedom From the Known” on Amazon, read the reviews & see if it’s something that appeals. He has a lot of books out there, but this one’s an excellent intro.

    Also, after reading some of the discussion on your blog, I wrote a poem last night that you might like, called Really? It’s on my wordpress blog if you’re interested.

    Peace be with you …

Leave a Reply

